774 847 7977 | 60 Man Mar Drive, Plainville, MA intheloop@comcast.net

Welcome to the Sweet Shawlettes Blog Tour

 

Jean Moss, author of Sweet Shawlettes, is well into her third week of her promotional “Blog Tour” featuring her latest book. We totally underestimated the popularity that this exciting new book would create and quickly had to scramble to reorder more copies. Our thanks to Taunton Press for the rush delivery.

Jean Moss

Jean has been a part of the knitting community/business for some 30 years, beginning her career with Ralph Lauren, then onto Benneton and Laura Ashley. Many of her designs have been featured in well known knitting publications such as Rowan, Vogue and The Knitter. What does she do with her spare time? Honestly, as a business woman myself, I do not know where she finds the time, but she’s cooking, leading knitting tours through Europe, gardening and singing a tune or two.

Whether you are a knitter or admirer of beautiful handwork, all you have to do is visit your LYS or just do some people watching at the mall and you know that cowls, wraps, and shawls are the “it items” right now.  They not only transcend all age groups, but fibers as well. Chunky, bulky, mohair lace, worsted blends, Jean’s book reflects them all. Not to mention that these are a great way to showcase your favorite brooch, pins or buttons.

25 irresistible patterns await and each chapter is broken down into four categories: Country, Couture, Folk and Vintage. We conducted our own little Q&A in house as people were browsing through the pages and we have a list of the “I need to make winners”.

First is Twine (seen below on Leslie) knit with Rowan Big Wool. This was a quick bulky knit completed on large needles and joined with a three needle bind off.  A great project says Leslie, for those beginners who would like to learn some new stitch patterns or a new technique.

Others that would soon be finding their way to the needles were Enigma, Harlequin, Ceilidh and Mantilla. You can see all the patterns from Jean’s photo gallery here.

We have opened this post up for comments and please feel free to ask Jean any questions. Taunton Press has graciously agreed to give away one copy of Sweet Shawlettes so we will be picking one lucky winner from the comments section. You have to comment to enter and please make sure you leave your first name and the initial of your last name. We will contact you for your full name and address so that Taunton can forward you a copy of the book. Good Luck and there are plenty of copies of Sweet Shawlettes here at the shop.

Special thanks to Jean, Phillip and Taunton Press for offering us this opportunity to participate in our first  Blog Tour and we wish them much success with the new book. For more insight into the world of Jean and her many talents check our her blog More Yarn Will Do The Trick.

BLOG TOUR IN FULL SWING NOW!
Tues 3 Jan  Wendy Knits Wendy Johnson
 Wed 4 Jan  Knitgrrl Shannon Okey
Thurs 5 Jan  Yarnagogo Rachael Herron
 Fri 6 Jan  The Knitter Rosee Woodland
Sat 7 Jan  Rhythm of the Needles  Joanne Conklin
Sun 8 Jan  Knit Purl Gurl  Karrie Steinmetz
Mon 9 Jan  Craft Sanity  Jennifer Ackerman-Haywood
Tues 10 Jan  Planet Purl Beth Moriarty
 Wed 11 Jan  Sunset Cat  Stephannie Tallent
Thurs 12 Jan  A Really Good Yarn  Julie Schilthuis
Fri 13 Jan  Knit 1 Chicago  Lynn Coe
Sat 14 Jan  Go Knit in your Hat Carol Sulcoski
Sun 15 Jan  Redshirt Knitting  Erika Barcott
Mon 16 Jan   In The Loop  Cheryl Erlandson and Ellen Cohen
Tues 17 Jan  WEBS  Kathy Elkins
Wed 18 Jan  Zeneedle  Margene Smith
Thurs 19 Jan   Knitspot  Anne Hanson
Fri 20 Jan   Urban Yarns  Alexa Ludeman
Sat 21 Jan  A Friend to knit with  Leslie Friend
Mon 23 Jan  Tentenknits  Margaux Hufnagel
Tues 24 Jan  Fancy Tiger Crafts  Amber Corcoran
Tues 25 Jan  Chic Knits  Bonne Marie Burns
Tues 26 Jan  The Panopticon  Franklin Habit
Sorry that we cannot find out why the comments are not posting. Please feel free to leave a comment on our Facebook page as we try to correct the problem